Saturday, May 28, 2022

Google can now translate eight more Indian languages. Full list here

Search engine company Google has upgraded its ‘language translation’ feature by adding 24 languages ​​spoken in different countries. Of the 24 languages, Google has included eight Indian languages, including Sanskrit-one of the oldest languages ​​in the world. In all, Google Translate supports a total of 133 languages ​​in use worldwide.

What Google calls a “zero-shot” or “zero-resource” machine translation model is an extension – one that learns to translate into another language without looking at its example.

According to Google research scientist Isaac Caswell, the search engine company’s model works on about 100 data-rich languages ​​by training a “single gigantic neural AI model” and then applying it to hundreds of languages ​​learned. Know

“Imagine that you are a big multilingual and then if you start reading novels in another language, you can combine what it might mean based on your knowledge of the language,” he said.

List of eight new Indian languages ​​included by Google Translate:

  • Assamese: Used by about 25 million people in Northeast India
  • Bhojpuri: Used by about 50 million people in North India
  • Dog: About three million people in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir use it
  • Konkani: About two million people in Goa and Maharashtra use it
  • Thailand: About 34 million people in Bihar use it
  • Meteilon (Manipuri): Used by about two million people in Northeast India
  • Mizo: Used by about 830,000 people in Mizoram
  • Sanskrit: Used by about 20,000 people in India

There are 16 other languages ​​translated by Google:

  • Aymara, About two million people in Bolivia, Chile and Peru use it
  • BambraAbout 14 million people in Mali use it
  • DivehiAbout 300,000 people in the Maldives use it
  • EweAbout seven million people in Ghana and Togo use it
  • GuaraniAbout seven million people use it in Paraguay and Bolivia, Argentina and Brazil
  • IlocanoAbout 10 million people in the northern Philippines use it
  • CryoAbout four million people in Sierra Leone use it
  • Kurdish (Sorani)Used by about 15 million people in Iraq and Iran
  • LingalaUsed by about 45 million people in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, Angola and the Republic of South Sudan
  • LugandaAbout 20 million people in Uganda and Rwanda use it
  • OromoAbout 37 million people in Ethiopia and Kenya use it
  • QuechuaUsed by about 10 million people in Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador and surrounding countries
  • SepediAbout 14 million people in South Africa use it
  • TigrinyaAbout eight million people in Eritrea and Ethiopia use it
  • TsongaUsed by nearly seven million people in Iswatini, Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe

Subscribe to Mint Newspapers

, Enter a valid email

, Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.


Related Articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles